The Devil Behind the Canvas was an unfinished Unreal Engine 3 mod started by Yuan Cui. The main hook was that each area would have had 3 variations to correspond with sanity states – normal, twilight, and hell.  Most of the meshes below are from Unreal Tournament 3. The columns and vaulted ceilings are placeholders I created with BSP. I made the caustics and simple candle and firefly particle effects.

Below is a collaboration by Yuan Cui, myself and the rest of the DBC team. Yuan did the initial block-out and then I went in and made the geometry more interesting and added the faked shadows with light functions and the volumetric light shafts. Then Yuan went in and did a final art pass and really blew it out.

Below is a collection from the forest and cave entrance areas I designed.

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

Below are some more crypt and cave areas. My concept for this main cavern was that it would be half filled with sea water in phase 1 and the water level would get progressively lower to reveal more stairs and rooms in phases 2 and 3.

cave wip

cave wip

cave wip

