The Devil Behind the Canvas was an unfinished Unreal Engine mod started by Yuan Cui. The game’s main hook was that each area would have had 3 variations to correspond with sanity states – normal, twilight, and hell. I built the following levels in Unreal and used some of the static meshes that came with Unreal Tournament 3.

Below is a collection of crypt and cave settings. The columns and vaulted ceilings I created with BSP and converted to static meshes to act as placeholders. I  made the caustics (water reflections) and the simple candle and firefly particle effects.

Below is a collaboration by Yuan Cui, myself and the rest of the DBC team. Yuan did the initial block-out and then I went in and made the geometry more interesting and added the faked shadows with light functions and the volumetric light shafts. Then Yuan went in and did a final art pass and really blew it out.

Below is a collection from the forest and cave entrance areas I designed.

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

forest wip

Below are some more crypt and cave areas. My concept for this main cavern was that it would be half filled with sea water in phase 1 and 2 and would drain to reveal more stairs and rooms in phase 3.

cave wip

cave wip

cave wip

